Blog 107: The Magic of Woven Words – Author Interview #12

Dear Readers,

The weekend is here and I look forward to wrapping up a caveat and darling read. The review will be out real soon. Do stay tuned. Apart from this book, I am also doing an Audio Book – Think Like a Monk by Jay Shetty and it really is sanguine and sagacious. I fully intend to finish this book tomorrow.

A huge Thank You and a Loud Shout out to the Author – Melissa Ivers for agreeing to participate and kind enough to send prompt response to all my questions.

Melissa Ivers is one of the author’s of the book – Stocking Stuffers (Stay tuned for my review.)

–>  A Brief Bio (As is written by the Author)

I grew up reading RL Stein and Sweet Valley High before moving on to Stephen King and sneaking my mom’s Danielle Steel books. I quickly discovered paranormal romance and epic fantasy which I read for years and still do today. I discovered contemporary romance a few years ago and fell in love. It’s what I mainly read now and what I write. 
I started writing short stories and novels when I was in middle school. I used to stay up until all hours of the night, typing on my mom’s typewriter. Yes, I’m that old. 

Question 1:  Can you share with us something about the book that isn’t in the blurb? Can you share a snippet that isn’t in the blurb or excerpt?

Author’s Response:  My book is called Mistletoe and Mischief, one of five short stories featured in the Stocking Stuffer anthology. It’s an enemies to lovers/best friends younger sister story. 

I don’t know what it is about Julia Rowe, but I love—no, I live to get under her skin. Her cheeks redden while her chest flushes, and those whiskey eyes flash in anger, piercing through me, making me feel alive. I have a hunch she secretly enjoys fighting with me, too. She goads me into it each and every time.

The look on her face when her brother dropped the bomb was priceless. I didn’t expect her to take it well. In fact, I’d have been disappointed if she were happy. There’s no way in hell she wants to be under the same roof with me for even one night. I stifle a laugh. It’s going to be a fun holiday vacation. 

For me.

Question 2:  What inspired you to start writing? What advice would you give a new writer, someone just starting out?

Author’s Response:  I’ve always had this drive to put words on the page, even from a young age. I have these characters that get in my head and they each have a story to tell.

I would tell new writers to write and write as much as you can. It’s the only way to grow and improve and if you can find good critique partners to support you, you’ll grow even more. 

Question 3:  What is the most difficult part about writing for you? How do you handle writer’s block? 

Author’s Response:  Sometimes it’s finding the time to write. I work a full time job that keeps me busy most days, so I try to write nights and weekends.

Writer’s block is the bane of a writer’s existence. I tend to give myself a breather, step back for a day or two and reset before I dive back in.  

Question 4:  What time of the day do you usually write? Who is your favorite author and why? What are you reading now?

Author’s Response:  Evenings after dinner, because I work through the week.

My favorite author is Megan March. I love her characters, how she forms a story and keeps me glued to the pages the entire book.

I’m in between books right now, trying to work on my full length contemporary sports romance.

Question 5: Recommend three of your favorite books to the readers.

Author’s Response:

Megan March- Beneath This Mask – it was the first in the beneath series, but they’re all great.

Mira Lynn Kelly- Dirty Player – it was her first introduction into her hockey series.

Kate Meader- Irresistible You

Samantha Whiskey – Axel (all her hockey books are great) (Sorry I can’t just pick 3).

For all we self proclaimed book nerds, every Interview features the Author’s favorite books and this is one of the ways to grow our TBR. Well, I definitely make a note of all the recommendations by the Authors so far and I look forward to with great fervor to all the upcoming Interviews and book recommendations mentioned.

Until next time!

#Stayhungrystaybookish

Lots of love,

mrsswiftnib

Published by mrsswiftnib

A fellow book worm who by norms classifies as a voracious reader, books have been a key part since a toddler. Also a prolific writer, I love the craft of words. Of course, people who love to read mostly love to write too! Isn't it? I play around with colors and take absolute delight in Pencil Sketching and Mandalas. A little secret to indulge - I foster a vested interest of amassing a New Degree almost every year. It's my way to Paradise :) A Daughter, Wife, Engineer, Bibliophile, Six Yard Lover, Mandala Artist, Painter, Writer, Blogger, Poet, Sports Fanatic, Fitness Enthusiast, Photographer & a varied Juggler of Artsy Interests - That's Me in a Nutshell Welcome Aboard Y'all!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started